Doubling down on personal branding

I launch a video podcast, travel to Banff with a baby, and attend the OneTrust conference

This is my way of staying connected - a simple monthly email.

Hi Friends and welcome to my monthly newsletter!

In this issue: I launch a video podcast, travel to Banff with a baby, and attend the OneTrust conference.If you enjoy my newsletter, it'd make my week if you would forward it to a friend!

If we haven't met yet, welcome! Shoot me message, would love to connect.

MayEric Kim author talk @ Atlanta History MuseumMother's Day brunch @ King + DukeTook the baby to Banff, CanadaCelebrated 6 year wedding anniversaryHosted lunch after a cousin's weddingRode ATVs at my cousin's in Temple, GABaby music class @ BunnyHiveDay trip to Greenville, SC Zoo4 podcast interviewsAttended OneTrust user conferenceBaby's first Atlanta United game

Doubling down on personal branding

I set a goal in 2021 to focus on building my personal brand but have struggled to consistently deliver on this. I think a big reason is forcing a medium that I don't enjoy. This past month I think I found an easy repeatable format to help me build the content muscle: I'm starting a podcast.

Yes. Everyone has one and now, so does your favorite newsletter writer.

This month I published 3 video interviews (4 recorded) with friends sharing their career paths and get into the nitty gritty of their hobbies or what I find makes them unique.https://www.youtube.com/user/nikl91/videos

Topics include:

  • Startup employee ditches tech to buy tree service business: link

  • Professional golfer shares behind the scenes view of tour life: link

  • Ex-Deloitte and MBA grad explains how to appreciate abstract art: link

I'm looking to further drive more branding and am considering the following tag line, would love your thoughts:'Your manager's favorite manager'

Thinking of using that to phrase to center my content around. Business, life, mentorship, family, etc.

Thoughts? Just reply back to this email to let me know.

P.S. If you know how to build a personal brand, I need help! Looking for someone to bounce ideas off. Any referral is welcome too!

Banff with a baby

Can't keep the baby off a plane these days. We spent Saturday - Tuesday in Banff/Calgary to surprise my sister-in-law after her surprise engagement. We of course had to bring the little man with us. He's getting fussier on the plane the bigger he gets but he's still free so we plan to take advantage of that as much as we can.Lake Louise was still frozen over but the scenery was beautiful and the Airbnb we stayed at was great for a large group. Highly recommend Banff!

Attending the OneTrust conferenceOld stomping ground

Last week, OneTrust, my former employer, hosted their annual user conference bringing together ~600 customers, prospects, and partners. I now fall into the 'partner' category in my new role where I help clients manage their privacy programs while driving the alliance relationship with OneTrust. Naturally, I had to sponsor the conference.

Spent Monday - Thursday in downtown Atlanta reuniting with old friends, chatting with former/current/future customers, and just soaking in the atmosphere.

My 15 minute speaking session

Many folks asked me if it was weird being back at an OT event but as a vendor and the answer is: yes. Absolutely. I sacrificed a lot for the company. Not only my time but mental health, relationships, and physical health.

The majority of colleagues were just excited to see me as I was them. Like I wrote in my farewell post, when you go to battle with teammates you build a deep bond.

But there are people who have an 'In-or-Out' mentality. Once you quit, you've quit on them and the company and they won't speak to you. I experienced that with one or two individuals. But hey, that's part of life and you move on.

Like I told some of the leadership last week, I have many vested interests in OTs success so I'll continue to cheerlead from the side and drive business between our two orgs.

Running Stats from the Past Month

May Running Stats: *crickets*

Annual Total Mileage: 37.22 miles

Just didn't prioritize it.

The End

2022 is about all connections for me. I'd love to grab coffee/chai or jump on a quick call. Shoot me a text and we can schedule something. 404-731-7814.Go big!- Nik Fuller

In Search Of

Anyone interested in being interviewed for a video podcast? I want to talk to my friends and share all the cool things they are up to.

Join the conversation

or to participate.