Navigating the Highs and Lows of Self-Employment

Did they bank at Silicon Valley Bank?

March 16th, 2023:  March is in full swing. Between client work, sales calls, and admin, my investment in Twitter is paying off as I inch towards 2100 followers. Still figuring out insurance bills from edition #46. The baby has found even more new ways to get sick but dang is he cute so don't mind too much.

If you enjoy my newsletter, it'd make my week if you would forward it to a friend!If we haven't met yet, welcome! Shoot me message, would love to connect.

#1 The Push & Pull; The Highs & Lows

There's a constant awareness in the back of my mind of my business throughout my days and nights. I wouldn't describe it as fear or stress. If anything it's 'a presence'. Almost as if someone texted you to check your email but you have checked it yet. You know it's there but not what it says or what to do with it.

It's not a bad feeling either. More neutral. Just an awareness.

Now, if all that I felt about my business was an awareness then I'm probably not caring enough about it. And over these last 2.5 months I've been taken on a rollercoaster of emotions.

When you look zoom in on any given day or week, as the saying goes, the highs are high and the lows are low.

'Am I doing enough?'

'Is my pipeline realistic?'

'They're late on paying my invoice. Will they pay me? Did they bank at Silicon Valley Bank?'

The Micro of day-to-day is like a wooden rollercoaster at Six Flags. You will be sore later that day from all the bumps. But it's also kind of fun. I'd ride it again!

What keeps me sane is zooming out to the Macro. The lows aren't as deep and the highs don't to peek as hard. Overtime (I'm writing as if it's been more than 2 months lol), I remind myself to take a step and look at the progress so far. 

Tracking against my financial goals is my guidepost to how this experiment is going.

Should I share my full Q1 result in the next newsletter?

The ups and downs are par for the course, I just need to answer two questions:

  1. Can I stomach the lows in exchange for the highs?

  2. Is the freedom of time worth stomaching it?

For me, so far, as long as the answer at the end of every quarter is YES then we keep pushing.

The Nik Fuller Show | Recent Podcast Episodes

  • Nada. But I'm bringing it back!

The End

2023 is about building for me. I'd love to grab coffee/chai or jump on a quick call. Shoot me a text and we can schedule something. 404-731-7814. Go big! - Nik Fuller

In Search Of

Anyone interested in being interviewed for a video podcast? I want to talk to my friends and share all the cool things they are up to.

Join the conversation

or to participate.