Business Book Review: Rework

Recently read 'Rework' by the founders of Basecamp Jason Fried and David Heinemeier Hansson based on the recommendation of a friend at work. I already had the book on my shelf but never read it.

I finished it in a few hours. Very easy to read. Almost reads like a compilation of blog posts which was what I like. While reading I earmarked my favorite chapter titles to share.

This is book is more about mindset and challenging the status quo and hustle culture (although they don't directly call it that). I really enjoyed their point of view on building a sustainable business over chasing VC money and trying to get on TechCrunch. Good reminder that success is defined in all shapes and sizes.

  • Enough with "entrepreneurs"

  • Start a business, not a startup - big fan of this thinking. Aligns with the Sweaty Startup idea as wel.

  • Making the call is making progress

  • Be a curator

  • Quick wins

  • Throw less at the problem - I like this because they talk about Gordon Ramsay similar to my blog post here.

  • Underdo your competition

  • Say no by default - Essentialism is key

  • Out-teach your competition

  • Emulate drug dealers - this just made me laugh. Create a great freemium experience.

  • Hire when it hurts

  • Hire great writers - Really enjoyed this section. I think everyone should have a blog to practice their writing and critical thinking skills. Very underrated skill.

  • Own your bad news - As we say at OT, bads news doesn't get better with time.

  • Decisions are temporary - Don't worry about decisions that can be undone.

  • Sound like you - easier said than done if you don't practice being you.

Ever read Rework? Are you building a business? Would love to connect and learn more.

Join the conversation

or to participate.