My 10-year success thesis

The 5 pillars I'm focused on

July 28, 2023: This past week I’ve had some amazing conversations with folks in the game. Talking real estate, agencies, eLearning businesses, etc. Those conversations prompted me to think on what steps I’m taking to

If we haven't met yet, welcome! Shoot me message, would love to connect.

My 10-year success thesis:

My 10-year success thesis:

- Luck finding me

- Play to my strengths

- Find higher leverage activities

- Look for doubles over home runs

- Gain exposure to more industries

Luck finding me:

My success in the next 10-years relies upon me building a strong personal brand.

This is why I write on Twitter, LinkedIn, host in-person dad events, and put out a newsletter and YouTube channel with my real name.

I want people to think 'Oh, Nik Fuller might ______, let me ask him.'

He might: know someone, be interested, be able to help, etc.

They can only think that if they know me.

I'm starting to see this in small chunks since the start of this year. This plays off Naval's writings on the levels of luck. One of my favorites.

Play to my strengths:

Most get this wrong early in their careers.

I cheated in high school chemistry. Imagine if I spent the next decade of my life trying to be better at it?

What a waste.

My strengths are:

- simplifying complex problems

- pushing projects from 0 --> 1 (not a great operator)

- building trust and gaining buy-in from others

- finding and empowering talent (always be recruiting)

Find higher leverage activities:

This started with going independent. I should replace my salary this year if not 1.5x it.

Now I'm starting to think about how I can place more bets with bigger payoffs.

Things like: buying cashflow, investing in larger projects, and gaining exposure to new industries.

I want to do more in a disciplined manner.

Taking my 0 --> 1 strength and then supporting others as they run.

Look for doubles over home runs:

I placed my home run bet in 2017. Hopefully they IPO one day.

Right now, I'm not willing to work 80hrs/week for the next 5 years again for another home run.

So I'm looking for doubles.

Mid-size payoff with lower risk.

Gain exposure to more industries:

I'm relatively illiterate when it comes to real estate development and financial markets.

Creating success over the next 10 years requires me to explore and learn more about these mechanisms.

That comes through researching, shadowing, and/or getting in the game myself.

I'm not bad at these; just lack reps and experience to get good at them.

Actively seeking out in these areas is critical to me learning what good opportunities look and smell like vs bad ones.

I reserve the right to change my mind.

And so should you.

Side Projects

The End

2023 is about building for me. I'd love to grab coffee/chai or jump on a quick call. Shoot me a text and we can schedule something. 404-731-7814. Go big! - Nik Fuller

Join the conversation

or to participate.